PMA2017/Niger Round 2 Indicateurs

APERÇU DES INDICATEURS 

Résumé du plan d'échantillonnage pour PMA2017/Niger-National :

Au Niger, l'enquête Performance Monitoring for Accountability 2020 (PMA2020) recueille des données au niveau national, à Niamey, dans les zones urbaines en dehors de Niamey et dans les zones rurales, afin de permettre l'estimation d'indicateurs clés pour suivre les progrès de la planification familiale au niveau de la population et des établissements. PMA2017/Niger, le quatrième cycle de collecte de données de PMA2020 au Niger (deuxième cycle au niveau national, et quatrième cycle à Niamey), a utilisé un plan de sondage en grappes à deux niveaux avec la zone résidentielle (urbaine et rurale) et les régions comme domaines d'échantillonnage au niveau national, et les cinq grappes de Niamey à l'intérieur de Niamey. Un échantillon de 84 EE a été sélectionné à partir de 84 unités d'échantillonnage primaire, 51 EE en dehors de Niamey et 33 EE à Niamey, qui ont été tirées d'une base de sondage fournie par le quatrième recensement général de la population et de l'habitat, effectué par l'Institut national de la statistique du Niger en 2012. Pour chaque EE, 35 ménages ont été sélectionnés. Une méthode de départ aléatoire a été utilisée pour sélectionner systématiquement les ménages au sein de l'EA.

Les femmes éligibles en âge de procréer (15-49 ans) vivant dans les ménages sélectionnés ont été contactées et ont accepté de participer aux entretiens. La base de données finale comprenait 2 784 enquêtes sur les ménages (taux de réponse de 98,2 %), 3 034 enquêtes sur les femmes (taux de réponse de 95,4 %) et 132 enquêtes PDS (taux de réponse de 96,4 %). La collecte des données a été effectuée entre mai et septembre 2017.

L'échantillon a été alimenté pour générer des estimations au niveau national de la prévalence de la contraception moderne chez toutes les femmes avec une marge d'erreur de 2 % au niveau national et de 3 % pour les estimations de Niamey uniquement, en milieu urbain et rural. Pour plus de détails sur notre méthodologie d'enquête, y compris les outils d'enquête, la formation, le traitement des données et les taux de réponse, veuillez vous reporter à la fin du tableau ci-dessous.

Tableaux SOI

Premier tour de l'échantillon de conception

Pour le premier cycle de collecte de données au niveau national au Niger, l'enquête a utilisé une base de sondage fournie par le quatrième recensement général de la population et de l'habitat (RGPH) mené par l'Institut national de la statistique (INS) du Niger en 2012. La base de sondage est composée d'unités primaires d'échantillonnage (UPE), chacune d'entre elles étant composée de 3 à 5 secteurs d'énumération (ZE). Les UPE ont été sélectionnées selon une probabilité proportionnelle à la taille de la base de sondage, au sein de deux strates, urbaine et rurale. Cinquante et une UPE ont été sélectionnées selon la méthode de probabilité proportionnelle à la taille (PPS) parmi ces strates. Une fois les UPE sélectionnées, les EE au sein de chaque UPE qui étaient trop petites (<150

Dans chaque groupe d'EA sélectionné, les ménages et les établissements de santé privés ont été répertoriés et cartographiés. Les superviseurs de terrain ont sélectionné au hasard 35 ménages à partir de la liste des ménages en utilisant une méthode de démarrage aléatoire. Une liste de ménages a été établie et toutes les femmes éligibles âgées de 15 à 49 ans dans les ménages sélectionnés ont été approchées et invitées à donner leur consentement éclairé (et leur assentiment si elles étaient âgées de 15 à 17 ans) pour participer à l'étude.

Pour l'enquête sur les PDS, jusqu'à trois PDS privés, y compris des pharmacies, ont été sélectionnés au hasard dans chaque limite de grappe de l'EA échantillonnée. En outre, trois PDS de santé publique (niveau le plus bas, deuxième niveau le plus bas et troisième niveau le plus bas) désignés pour desservir chaque population de l'EA ont été sélectionnés.

Exemple de mise à jour

Les UPE de l'enquête PMA Niger sont des secteurs de dénombrement (SD) obtenus à partir du RGPH réalisé par l'Institut national de la statistique (INS) du Niger en 2012. La base de sondage est constituée d'UPE, elles-mêmes composées de 3 à 5 EA. Ces UPE sont réparties sur les 5 communes de Niamey en fonction de leur taille. Trente-trois UPE ont été sélectionnées en utilisant la probabilité proportionnelle à la taille (PPS) parmi ces strates. Une fois les UPE sélectionnées, les EE de chaque UPE qui étaient trop petites (<150

Dans chaque groupe d'EA sélectionné, les ménages et les établissements de santé privés ont été répertoriés et cartographiés. Les superviseurs de terrain ont sélectionné au hasard 35 ménages à partir de la liste des ménages en utilisant une méthode de démarrage aléatoire. Une liste de ménages a été établie et toutes les femmes éligibles âgées de 15 à 49 ans dans les ménages sélectionnés ont été approchées et invitées à donner leur consentement éclairé pour participer à l'étude.

La majorité des PDS sont répétés à chaque tour, formant ainsi un panel d'enquête. Si un EA a plus de trois PDS privés identifiés au cours du processus d'inscription, un nouvel échantillon aléatoire de trois PDS privés est sélectionné à chaque tour.

PMA2020 utilise des questionnaires standardisés pour recueillir des données sur les ménages, les femmes et les points de prestation de services qui sont comparables entre les pays du programme et conformes aux enquêtes nationales existantes. Avant de lancer l'enquête dans chaque pays, des experts locaux examinent et modifient ces questionnaires pour s'assurer que toutes les questions sont adaptées à chaque contexte. Trois questionnaires ont été utilisés pour recueillir les données de l'enquête PMA2017/Niger : le questionnaire pour les ménagesl questionnaire féminin et le questionnaire sur les points de prestation de services.

Les questionnaires destinés aux ménages, aux femmes et aux points de prestation de services étaient basés sur des enquêtes modèles conçues par le personnel de PMA2020 à l'Institut Bill & Melinda Gates pour la population et la santé reproductive de l'École de santé publique Johns Hopkins Bloomberg, l'Institut national de la statistique (INS) du Niger, et les documents de travail sur le terrain de l'Enquête démographique et de santé (EDS) du Niger.

Tous les questionnaires PMA2020 sont administrés à l'aide du logiciel Open Data Kit (ODK) et des smartphones Android. Les questionnaires PMA2017/Niger étaient en français au téléphone. Les entretiens ont été menés en français ou souvent traduits oralement en haoussa, en djerma ou dans d'autres langues locales selon les préférences des répondants. Les recenseurs résidents féminins (collecteurs de données) dans chaque zone de dénombrement (ZE) ont administré les questionnaires pour les ménages et les femmes dans les ménages sélectionnés et le questionnaire PDS pour les PDS privés échantillonnés. Les superviseurs de terrain ont administré le questionnaire SDP dans les PDS publics.

Le questionnaire sur les ménages recueille des informations de base sur le ménage, telles que la possession de bétail et de biens durables, ainsi que les caractéristiques de l'unité d'habitation, notamment les matériaux des murs, des sols et du toit, les sources d'eau et les installations sanitaires. Ces informations sont utilisées pour construire un indice de richesse.

La première section du questionnaire ménage, la liste des ménages, contient des informations démographiques de base sur tous les membres habituels du ménage et les visiteurs qui ont séjourné dans le ménage la nuit précédant l'entretien. Cette liste est utilisée pour identifier les répondants éligibles pour le questionnaire féminin. En plus de la liste, le questionnaire ménage recueille également des données qui sont utilisées pour mesurer les indicateurs clés de l'eau, de l'assainissement et de l'hygiène (WASH), y compris les sources et utilisations régulières des installations WASH utilisées et la prévalence de la défécation en plein air par les membres du ménage.

Le questionnaire féminin est utilisé pour recueillir des informations auprès de toutes les femmes âgées de 15 à 49 ans qui ont été inscrites sur la liste des ménages dans certains foyers. Le questionnaire féminin recueille des informations spécifiques sur : l'éducation ; la fécondité et les préférences en matière de fécondité ; l'accès, le choix et l'utilisation du planning familial ; la qualité des services de planning familial ; et l'exposition aux messages de planning familial dans les médias.

Le questionnaire du SDP a permis de recueillir des informations sur la fourniture et la qualité des services et produits de santé génésique, l'intégration des services de santé, et l'eau et l'assainissement au sein du SDP.

Formation

La formation au travail de terrain PMA2017/Niger a commencé au printemps 2015 par la formation de superviseurs de terrain supplémentaires aux côtés des recenseurs résidents, afin de prendre en considération l'intensification de la collecte de données nationales. La formation a été co-dirigée par le personnel de PMA2020 de l'Institut Bill & Melinda Gates pour la population et la santé reproductive de l'École de santé publique Bloomberg de Johns Hopkins, et le personnel du projet de l'Institut national de la statistique du Niger (INS).

Tout au long des cinq jours de formation, les RE et les superviseurs ont été évalués sur la base de leurs performances lors de plusieurs évaluations écrites et téléphoniques, d'exercices de terrain simulés et de la participation en classe. Les sessions de formation des RE ont été menées principalement en français, avec des sessions de traduction orale en petits groupes dans les langues locales afin de standardiser les traductions entre les langues qui seraient utilisées pour administrer les questionnaires dans certaines EE.

Collecte et traitement des données

La collecte de données a été effectuée entre mai et septembre 2017. Contrairement aux enquêtes traditionnelles sur papier et crayon, PMA2020 utilise ODK Collect, une application logicielle à code source ouvert, pour collecter des données sur les téléphones mobiles. Tous les questionnaires ont été programmés à l'aide de ce logiciel et installés sur tous les smartphones du projet. Les formulaires du questionnaire ODK sont programmés avec des schémas de saut automatique et des contraintes de réponse intégrées pour réduire les erreurs de saisie des données.

L'application ODK a permis aux RE et aux superviseurs de collecter et de transférer les données d'enquête vers un serveur central ODK Aggregate cloud. Cette agrégation instantanée des données a également permis le traitement simultané des données et des corrections de parcours pendant que PMA2020 était encore actif sur le terrain. Tout au long de la collecte des données, le personnel central de l'INS au Niger et le responsable des données de l'Institut Bill & Melinda Gates de l'École de santé publique Johns Hopkins à Baltimore, Maryland, ont régulièrement contrôlé les données entrantes et ont informé le personnel de terrain de toute erreur potentielle, de toute donnée manquante ou de tout problème constaté dans la soumission des formulaires sur le serveur central.

L'utilisation des téléphones mobiles a permis de combiner la collecte et la saisie des données en une seule étape ; la saisie des données a donc été achevée lorsque le dernier formulaire d'entretien a été téléchargé à la fin de la collecte des données en septembre.

Une fois toutes les données sur le serveur, les analystes de données ont nettoyé et dépersonnalisé les données, ont appliqué des poids d'enquête et ont préparé l'ensemble de données final pour l'analyse à l'aide du logiciel statistique Stata.

Ce tableau montre les taux de réponse des ménages et des femmes pour le PMA2017/Niger. Un total de 2 904 ménages ont été sélectionnés pour l'enquête PMA2017/Niger ; 2 836 ménages étaient occupés au moment du travail de terrain. Parmi les ménages occupés, 2 784 (98,2 %) ont consenti à un entretien au niveau du ménage et l'ont achevé. Le taux de réponse au niveau des ménages était similaire dans les zones urbaines (97,6 %) par rapport aux zones rurales (99,0 %) de dénombrement.

Dans les ménages occupés qui ont fourni une interview, un total de 3 180 femmes éligibles âgées de 15 à 49 ans ont été identifiées. Dans l'ensemble, 95,4 % des femmes éligibles étaient disponibles et ont consenti à l'entretien et l'ont mené à bien. Le taux de réponse des femmes était similaire dans les EE rurales (95,2 %) par rapport aux EE urbaines (95,5 %).

Seules les femmes de facto sont incluses dans les analyses PMA ; la taille finale de l'échantillon de femmes de facto était de 3 020 (non pondéré).

Au cours de l'enquête, 137 PDS ont été identifiés, dont 132 ont répondu à l'enquête (taux de réponse de 96,4 %).

Les pondérations ont été ajustées pour tenir compte de la non-réponse au niveau des ménages et des individus et ont été appliquées à toutes les estimations des ménages et des individus dans ce rapport. Les estimations du PDS ne sont pas pondérées.

Pour visualiser les erreurs d'échantillonnage pour les indicateurs PMA2020 décrits ci-dessus, télécharger le rapport complet sur les DI ici. Pour plus d'informations sur les indicateurs de la PMA2020, y compris le type d'estimation et la population de base, cliquez ici.

 

Niger/Niamey Institut National de la Statistique et l'Institut Bill & Melinda Gates pour la population et la santé reproductive à l'école de santé publique Johns Hopkins Bloomberg. Enquête PMA2020 (Performance Monitoring and Accountability 2020) Round 4, PMA2017/Niger-R4 (National) Snapshot of Indicators. 2017. Niamey, Niger et Baltimore, Maryland, États-Unis.

GTranslate

PMA2017/Niger Round 2 Indicators

SNAPSHOT OF INDICATORS 

PMA2020 Snapshot of Indicators (SOIs) are online tables that provide a summary of key family planning indicators and their breakdown by background characteristics (age, marital status, parity, education, residence, wealth, region). SOI tables include information on sample design, questionnaires, data processing, response rates and sample error estimates.

Summary of the sample design for PMA2017/Niger-National:

In Niger, the Performance Monitoring for Accountability 2020 (PMA2020) survey collects data at the national level, in Niamey, urban areas outside of Niamey, and rural areas, to allow for the estimation of key indicators to monitor progress in family planning at the population and the facility level. PMA2017/Niger, the fourth round of PMA2020 data collection in Niger (second round at the national level, and fourth round in Niamey), used a two-stage cluster design with residential area (urban and rural) and regions as sampling domains at the national level, and Niamey’s five clusters within Niamey. A sample of 84 EAs were selected from 84 Primary Sampling Units, 51 EAs outside of Niamey and 33 EAs within Niamey, which were drawn from a sampling frame provided by the Fourth General Census of Population and Housing, conducted by Niger’s National Statistics Institute in 2012. For each EA, 35 households were selected. A random start method was used to systematically select households within the EA.

Eligible females of reproductive age (15-49 years) living in selected households were contacted and consented for interviews. The final database included 2,784 completed household surveys (98.2% response rate), 3,034 completed female surveys (95.4% response rate) and 132 completed SDP surveys (96.4% response rate). Data collection was conducted between May and September 2017.

The sample was powered to generate national-level estimates of all women modern contraceptive prevalence with a 2% margin of error at the national level and a 3% for Niamey only, urban and rural estimates. For more details on our survey methodology including the survey tools, training, data processing and response rates, please scroll to the end of the table below.

The table below provides a summary of key family planning indicators and their breakdown by respondent background characteristics.

SOI Tables

PMA2020 Standard Family Planning Indicators

Utilization

Indicators All Women Married Women
Contraceptive Use    
Contraceptive Prevalence Rate (CPR) 15.9 18.9
Modern Contraceptive Prevalence (mCPR) 15.2 18.1
Traditional Contraceptive Prevalence 0.7 0.8

Demand for Family Planning and Fertility Preferences

Indicators All Women Married Women
Unmet need for family planning 17.6 21.0
Demand for family planning 33.5 39.9
Percent of all/married women with demand satisfied by modern contraception 45.4 45.3
Percent of recent births, by intention:
Wanted then 88.9 89.1
Wanted later 9.8 9.8
Wanted no more 1.2 1.1

Access, Equity, Quality and Choice

Indicators

All Women Married Women
Percent of users who chose their current method by themselves or jointly with a partner/provider 95.3 95.5
Percent of users who paid for family planning services 11.2 10.2
Method Information Index:    
Percent of current users who were informed about other methods 72.9 73.7
Percent of current users who were informed about side effects 48.9 49.6
Percent of current users who were told what to do if they experienced side effects 78.1 78.2
Percent of current users who would return and/or refer others to their provider 75.2 75.2
Percent of women receiving family planning information in the past 12 months 6.4 7.2

Round 1 Sample Design

For the first round of data collection at the National level in Niger, the survey used a sampling frame provided by the fourth General Census of Population and Housing (RGPH) conducted by Niger’s National Statistics Institute (INS) in 2012. The sampling frame is made up of primary sampling units (PSU), each of which are made up of 3 to 5 enumeration areas (EA). The PSUs were selected using probability proportional to size from the sampling frame, within two strata, urban and rural. Fifty-one PSUs were selected using probability proportional to size (PPS) among these strata. Once the PSUs were selected, EAs within each PSU that were too small (<150 households) were regrouped with contiguous EAs. In the event that the EA was too large (≥ 600 households), it was divided into smaller segments and one segment was randomly selected using PPS to the size of the segment. The 51 selected EAs were combined with 33 EAs in Niamey (sample design below) to make the national-level sample.

In each selected EA cluster, households and private health facilities were listed and mapped. Field supervisors randomly selected 35 households from the household listing using a random start method. A household roster was completed and all eligible women age 15-49 in selected households were approached and asked to provide informed consent (and assent if aged 15-17 years) to participate in the study.

For the SDP survey, up to three private SDPs, including pharmacies, within each sampled EA cluster boundary were randomly selected from the listing. In addition, three public health SDPs (lowest, second-lowest and third-lowest level) designated to serve each EA population were selected.

Sample Update

The PSUs of the PMA Niger survey are enumeration areas (EAs) obtained from the RGPH conducted by Niger’s National Statistics Institute (INS) in 2012. The sampling frame is made up of PSUs, which themselves are made up of 3 to 5 EA. These PSUs are divided up among Niamey's 5 communes according to size. Thirty-three PSUs were selected using probability proportional to size (PPS) among these strata. Once the PSUs were selected, EAs within each PSU that were too small (<150 households) were regrouped with contiguous EAs. In the event that the EA was too large (≥ 600 households), it was divided into smaller segments and one segment was randomly selected using PPS to the size of the segment.

In each selected EA cluster, households and private health facilities were listed and mapped. Field supervisors randomly selected 35 households from the household listing using a random start method. A household roster was completed and all eligible women age 15-49 in selected households were approached and asked to provide informed consent to participate in the study.

The majority of SDPs are repeated in each round, forming a panel survey. If an EA had more than three private SDPs identified during the listing process, then a new, random sample of three private SDPs is selected during each round.

PMA2020 uses standardized questionnaires to gather data about households, individual females, and service delivery points that are comparable across program countries and consistent with existing national surveys. Prior to launching the survey in each country, local experts review and modify these questionnaires to ensure all questions are appropriate to each setting. Three questionnaires were used to collect PMA2017/Niger survey data: the household questionnaire, the female questionnaire and the service delivery point questionnaire.

The household, female and service delivery point questionnaires were based on model surveys designed by PMA2020 staff at the Bill & Melinda Gates Institute for Population and Reproductive Health of the Johns Hopkins Bloomberg School of Public Health, the Niger Institut National de la Statistique (INS), and fieldwork materials of the Niger Demographic and Health Survey (DHS).

All PMA2020 questionnaires are administered using Open Data Kit (ODK) software and Android smartphones. The PMA2017/Niger questionnaires were in French on the phone. The interviews were conducted in French or often translated orally into Haussa, Djerma, or other local languages depending on respondent preferences. Female resident enumerators (data collectors) in each enumeration area (EA) administered the household and female questionnaires in the selected households and the SDP questionnaire for sampled private SDPs. Field supervisors administered the SDP questionnaire in public SDPs.

The household questionnaire gathers basic information about the household, such as ownership of livestock and durable goods, as well as characteristics of the dwelling unit, including wall, floor and roof materials, water sources, and sanitation facilities. This information is used to construct a wealth index.

The first section of the household questionnaire, the household roster, lists basic demographic information about all usual members of the household and visitors who stayed with the household the night before the interview. This roster is used to identify eligible respondents for the female questionnaire. In addition to the roster, the household questionnaire also gathers data that are used to measure key water, sanitation, and hygiene (WASH) indicators, including regular sources and uses of WASH facilities used and prevalence of open defecation by household members.

The female questionnaire is used to collect information from all women age 15 to 49 who were listed on the household roster at selected households. The female questionnaire gathers specific information on: education; fertility and fertility preferences; family planning access, choice and use; quality of family planning services; and exposure to family planning messaging in the media.

The SDP questionnaire collected information about the provision and quality of reproductive health services and products, integration of health services, and water and sanitation within the SDP.

Training

The PMA2017/Niger fieldwork training started in the spring of 2015 with training of additional field supervisors alongside resident enumerators, to take into consideration scale-up for national data collection. The training was co-led by PMA2020 staff from the Bill & Melinda Gates Institute for Population and Reproductive Health at the Johns Hopkins Bloomberg School of Public Health,and Institut National de la Statistique du Niger (INS) project staff.

Throughout the five-day training, REs and supervisors were evaluated based on their performance on several written and phone-based assessments, mock field exercises and class participation. The RE training sessions were conducted primarily in French, with small group oral translation sessions conducted in the local languages to standardize translations among languages that would be used to administer the questionnaires in selected EAs.

Data Collection & Processing

Data collection was conducted between May to September 2017. Unlike traditional paper-and-pencil surveys, PMA2020 uses ODK Collect, an open-source software application, to collect data on mobile phones. All the questionnaires were programmed using this software and installed onto all project smartphones. The ODK questionnaire forms are programmed with automatic skip-patterns and built-in response constraints to reduce data entry errors.

The ODK application enabled REs and supervisors to collect and transfer survey data to a central ODK Aggregate cloud server. This instantaneous aggregation of data also allowed for concurrent data processing and course corrections while PMA2020 was still active in the field. Throughout data collection, the central staff at INS in Niger and the data manager at the Bill & Melinda Gates Institute at Johns Hopkins School of Public Health in Baltimore, Maryland routinely monitored the incoming data and notified field staff of any potential errors, missing data or problems found with form submissions on the central server.

The use of mobile phones combined data collection and data entry into one step; therefore, data entry was completed when the last interview form was uploaded at the end of data collection in September.

Once all data were on the server, data analysts cleaned and de-identified the data, applied survey weights and prepared the final dataset for analysis using Stata statistical software.

The table below shows response rates for household and female respondents for PMA2017/Niger. A total of 2,904 households were selected for the PMA2017/Niger survey; 2,836 households were found to be occupied at the time of the fieldwork. Of the occupied households, 2,784 (98.2%) consented to and completed a household-level interview. The response rate at the household level was similar in urban (97.6%) relative to the rural (99.0%) enumeration areas (EAs).

In the occupied households that provided an interview, a total of 3,180 eligible women aged 15 to 49 years were identified. Overall, 95.4% of the eligible women were available and consented to and completed the interview. The female response rate was similar in the rural (95.2%) relative to the urban (95.5%) EAs.

Only de facto females are included in the PMA analyses; the final completed de facto female sample size was 3,020 (unweighted).

During the survey, 137 SDPs were identified of which 132 SDPs completed the survey (96.4% response rate).

Weights were adjusted for non-response at the household and individual levels and applied to all household and individual estimates in this report. SDP estimates are not weighted.

      PMA2017/Kenya Round 6
Result         Urban Rural Total
Household interviews              
Households selected         1,750 1,154 2,904
Households occupied         1,694 1,142 2,836
Households interviewed         1,653 1,131 2,784
Household response rate* (%)         97.6 99.0 98.2
             
Interviews with women age 15-49
Number of eligible women**         2,012 1,103 3,115
Number of eligible women interviewed         1,948 1,072 3,020
Eligible women response rate (%)         96.8 97.2 97.0

*Household response rate = number of household interviews/households occupied

**Eligible women response rates include only women identified in completed household interviews

Eligible women response rate = eligible women interviewed/eligible women

During the survey, 137 SDPs were identified of which 132 SDPs completed the survey (96.4% response rate).
 

To view the sample errors for the PMA2020 indicators described above, download the full SOI report here. For more information about PMA2020 indicators, including estimate type and base population, click here.

 

Niger/Niamey Institut National de la Statistique (National Institute of Statistics) and The Bill & Melinda Gates Institute for Population and Reproductive Health at The Johns Hopkins Bloomberg School of Public Health. Performance Monitoring and Accountability 2020 (PMA2020) Survey Round 4, PMA2017/Niger-R4 (National) Snapshot of Indicators. 2017. Niamey, Niger and Baltimore, Maryland, USA.

GTranslate